ACOFunStop.Com Forums

Go Back   ACOFunStop.Com Forums > Talking Shop > Ask the ACO

Old 01-03-2011
Probationary Trainee

KBhomes is on a distinguished road
Default Seeking to become an ACO.

Hello, I was referred to this forum by a close friend who things I would find the answer I'm looking for here!

My city recently posted an ad seeking applicants for an entry-level ACO. (See the ad below)

I feel this would be the perfect next step for me. I know this is becoming an increasingly competitive profession, and so my questions:

(1) do you think my qualifications are what they're looking for
(2) If so, what can I do to correctly advertise myself and my skills through my appearance and my application/resume.

I am a certified obedience trainer, and have been running my business for about 3 years now. www.barkforhelp.com. Before that I ran a licensed rescue/training program that was free to the community. I also took in many fosters at that time as well, and trained each one before their adoption. My 'career' in animals extends even further back. As a child I worked summers dog walking and pet sitting for the local community. I have volunteered at shelters all my life, and spend alot of time training the shelter dogs.

I have earned a degree in Dog Training, and human relations and communication. I have experience with basic medical needs, and the distribution of medications.

I am a 20 year old female. I do not have any paid experience as far as working for other pet stores, clinics, trainers etc, as I have created a living for myself through my own business, and there was never a need. I do with to continue my work with the community, but I feel that these years of experience were only leading up to something greater. And while my ability to work with animals founded a business for me, I want to take it to the next level.

Do I have the necessary qualifications for this entry level position?

http://www.cityofsedalia.com/filesto...ol_Officer.pdf