ACOFunStop.Com Forums

Go Back   ACOFunStop.Com Forums > Talking Shop > Job Openings

Old 11-24-2007
Giga-posting ACO

Scooterchic is on a distinguished road
Default WE NEED YOU!

Hey all, this is Scooterchic and I get hassled at work all the time because I am a rookie. nothing new right? Wrong. They are not hassling me the typical way you hassle rooks ( hiding the snare, posting nasty pictures on my locker, stealing my lunch) but consistently asking when i am gonna quit? It's f-ing annoying but do you know why? The last 5 people (excluding me) have quit just about the time they where going to be out on their own. For some reason the county hires people who can't hack it.

Our latest rookie to quit experienced a nasty event. A few weeks ago an American bulldog attacked a 4 year old girl killing her. The Sheriffs Department was there and ended up killing the dog. He was shook up and started complaining about everything. Also started finding reasons or excuses for not handling dogs in the field of back at base. We all went out for a few frosty pints and he explained that he is afraid of the large dogs we see (we have a butt load of pit bulls in the Phoenix area). That was on a Friday night. Monday morning, he walked into the LT's office and quit.

I am tired of being hassled about when my time is going to come. I want to be hassled and hazed like a real rookie should be..."Where's my damn snare?" Anybody moving to the Phoenix area and wants to work in animal control PLEASE apply. And for crying out load, don't quit!

http://www.maricopa.gov/human_resources/jobs_index.asp

Cheers, Scooterchic

Old 11-24-2007
Shelter Survivor

Bluey is on a distinguished road

Hang in there. It will get better. If the last 5 officers have resigned I can see why the rest are a bit edgy. Tell them where you stand. That way the will see you are in for the long run. Once they know that and they get over their fear of losing another rookie they will warm to you.