ACOFunStop.Com Forums

Go Back   ACOFunStop.Com Forums > Talking Shop > Ask the ACO

Old 03-24-2010
Provisional Posting ACO

ac shep is on a distinguished road
Default job safety rights

I am having a very difficult time finding anything in relation to my rights of what I am allowed to pertaining to my workplace safety. I n N.B. Canada a Bylaw/ACO is a (peace officer) under the provincial police act, this being said I have searched up and down at a government occupation website as to what rights we have and what we can carry for a safer work enviroment.
Is there any Canadian or Newbrunswick officers who can provide my department and I any legal documentation that could assist us. we carry no spray or bite sticks and could have prevented injuries over the years if we had been able to deploy either of these.
Thanks,Mike
Old 03-25-2010
Field Operative

carrie_cat

Hi!

I'm not an expert -- and particularly, not on CANADA! -- but you might want to talk with someone in the "risk management" business or someone in that area in your province government. Maybe they will have worked with some other agencies to find the appropriate balance of protection/education/safety/insurance!
Old 03-25-2010
Field Operative

hasbeenaco is on a distinguished road

I'm Canadian, I'm far from an expert, but here's what I know. I've done bylaw enforcement and been a cruelty officer here in Ontario, but the way I've always understood it is that working in those capacities has afforded me CERTAIN police powers. With those powers however, there has never been any sort of assumption that I am a 'police officer'. As a matter of fact, it was made painfully clear that I was notentitled to any of the privileges or protections that police are. In short, it came down to weighing the risks of every situation very carefully and realizing (many times) that I simply couldn't afford the risk of proceeding.