ACOFunStop.Com Forums

Go Back   ACOFunStop.Com Forums > Talking Shop > Ask the ACO

Old 08-17-2006
Provisional Posting ACO

Johnny
Default ACO education question!

Hello. My name is John and I am new here. I am currently a junior at Eastern Oregon University. I'm majoring in Sociology with a social welfare concentration and doing a minor in Criminology. I am currently a photo lab technician, full-time student, husband and father. I also play drums on our worship team at church. Needless to say, I'm very busy. I want more than anything to be an ACO or a humane law enforcement officer. I want to volunteer at our humane society and also be a reserve officer for the sheriff's dept. I was thinking the combination of education and experience with the humane society and the sheriff's dept. would be good to get things going as an ACO. Having time to do all these things is pretty much impossible. Any suggestions on what I should and shouldn't do or maybe have to do and not have to do? Any input would be greatly appreciated! Be safe and God bless!
*John
Old 09-06-2006
Provisional Posting ACO

Johnny

Nevermind...

Proverbs 12:10 *A righteous man cares for the needs of his animal, but the kindest acts of the wicked are cruel.*
Old 09-07-2006
Forum Friend

doggz109

Uhhh.....changed your mind that quick eh?
Old 09-07-2006
Almighty ACO

Caninelaw is on a distinguished road

He probably read some of the posts about what we do and have to put up with and decided to become a lawyer or something...
Old 09-07-2006
Provisional Posting ACO

Johnny

haha. No...I went on a ride-along with our county ACO and she gave me some great advice. After the ride-along I ended up getting a job offer from the animal shelter here. I took the job and am in the process of quitting my lab tech job to concentrate on school and the shelter job. With the extra time, I may become a sheriff deputy reserve...just depends on if I can get the money for the epuipment.