ACOFunStop.Com Forums

Go Back   ACOFunStop.Com Forums > Talking Shop > Ask the ACO

Old 07-18-2005
Probationary Trainee

BigB
Default I'm interested in becoming an ACO, where do I start?

Hello,

I'm interested in becoming an ACO, and I'm looking for information on how to go about it.

I've loved animals my whole life, and I was blown away to find that a job exists where I could help animals for a living. I've also had a longtime interest in Law Enforcement, so it almost seems like the perfect match.

Anyway, I've had a hard time finding information about Animal Control work, I've scoured the internet, and so far all I've found is a few job listings. (till now )

So, I was wondering if maybe you could offer some advice on where to start? How to get my foot in the door?

Things like:

What types of Agencies are best to work for? I've seen county run organizations that have Animal Control Officers on their staff, and also some non-profit Humane Societies that have Animal Control Officers on their staff, and I'm confused about what the difference is.

What sort of training or schooling should I look into before applying?

I've found some job listings with requirements like a Veterinary Nursing certificate, others that merely require a high school diploma.

What previous experience or skills do agencies look for when hiring a new Officer?

All Iíve got under my belt is some time spent volunteering at the Sonoma County Wildlife Rescue Center while I was in High School. I was exposed to many sick, dead, and dieing animals, so I think I can handle the ďsadĒ and ďgrossĒ factorís involved in this type of work.

Iím currently working as a Private Security Officer, I donít know if that will help me any, but it has given me some experience writing reports, using a radio, etc.