ACOFunStop.Com Forums

Go Back   ACOFunStop.Com Forums > Talking Shop > Ask the ACO

Old 05-11-2006
Probationary Trainee

grateful1311
Send a message via AIM to grateful1311 Send a message via Yahoo to grateful1311
Default ACO needs some advice....

Hi all,

I am an animal control officer for the city of Somerville, Massachusetts. I've only been on this job for about a month. I have a few questions and I am hoping someone can help me out. The previous animal control officer wasnt real big on making this position easier. He had no email, no filing system and no adoption program. I am trying to get all of that going and I am having trouble coming up with a schedule of adoption/kennel fees. We do not have our own kennels, we house our dogs in a private kennel. Therefore our costs can be pretty high. The way I see it, we should be charging not only for adoptions but also charging dog owners who's dogs have run off and had to be kenneled in our private facility. When I brought this idea up to the power that be around here, they liked the idea, but wanted to know if any other towns and cities in MA do this type of thing. I was just wondering if anyone (even out of state) could tell me how they handle these thing.

Thanks so much!

April
Somerville Animal control
Old 05-11-2006
Almighty ACO

UCDW880 is on a distinguished road

I have that problem with the cats I pick up. Since I don't have any regulations that allow for impound fees, I deal with it by issuing a citation and listing the cost of the impoundment on my statement. If they appeal the ticket to court, the judge knows the cost to the city for her sentencing. If they choose to pay the ticket, the bond forfeiture is $90 which more than covers my impound fees.

MB
Old 05-11-2006
Administrator
Site AdminGiga-posting ACO

Mark Kumpf has disabled reputation